South America


Brazil is the largest country in South America by area and borders nine of the eleven other countries on the continent.


Argentina is a republic in the very south of South America, bordered by Chile in the west and south, with Paraguay and Bolivia in the north and with Brazil and Uruguay in the east.


Chile is a republic in South America, Chile borders Argentina to the east and Bolivia and Peru to the north.


Colombia is the fourth largest country in South America, it is characterized by mountainous regions in the west and Amazon rainforests in the east.


Bolivia is a landlocked country, Bolivia is located in South America and borders Peru, Brazil, Paraguay, Argentina and Chile.


Ecuador is located in northern South America and borders Colombia, Peru and the Pacific Ocean.


Guyana is a republic in the north-east of South America, the country is very sparsely populated, and the capital Georgetown is the only major city.


Peru is a republic in South America; Peru borders Ecuador and Colombia to the north, Brazil and Bolivia to the east, and Chile to the south.

South America is a continent located mostly in the Southern Hemisphere and bordered by another continent, North America. South America is washed by the waters of the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans, as well as the Caribbean Sea. South America borders on another continent and part of the world - North America; they are connected by the Isthmus of Panama. In addition to the mainland, this part of the world includes many islands.

The South America part of the world includes a dozen independent countries - Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Venezuela, Guyana, Colombia, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, Chile, Ecuador, as well as dependent territories - Guiana (France), Falkland Islands (Great Britain), and South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands (UK). Sometimes countries washed by the waters of the Caribbean Sea are classified as Caribbean South America - these are Venezuela, Guyana, Colombia, Suriname and French Guiana.